Berrybrook School

History

Mrs. Katharine Mann had a dream and that dream became a reality in 1954 when she established the Berrybrook School. Mrs. Mann founded Berrybrook, "to provide a place to develop self esteem and confidence, to help a child not to be afraid to fail - to learn by trying." She wanted children to have the opportunity to explore and create, to learn from hands on experience, to learn to handle feelings and to accept them, to search out beauty in the world around them; to delight in exercising their bodies and to find out what they can do; a non-academic program that gives children time to develop their own ideas and to find their own answers.

The school is located on what was once "Molkiah Farm" on Winter Street in Duxbury, in a charming cape that is said to date back to 1750. With high hopes and eager anticipation Mrs. Mann and her colleague, Miss Helen Wheeler greeted four pupils and soon thereafter three more. As news of this very special school spread, enrollment continued to grow.

In 1966 the school was incorporated and a Berrybrook Board of Directors was established, "To ensure continuance of present policy of the school, which is to put the interests of the children first, to maintain the atmosphere of freedom of expression within reasonable limits in a home like atmosphere, to offer the children a wide variety of experiences by means of a competent and understanding staff which will help prepare the child for the rest of his life; to always keep the emotional welfare of the child as the main objective."

In 2008, a new school house was built adjacent to the farm house to provide appropriate space to meet the needs of current and future the Berrybrook families. Berrybrook continues to value the vision of its founder, Katharine Mann.

 

Find us on Facebook